Call Now
1800 102 5277

Mohanlal Sukhadia University (MLSU)

Updated on: Mar 19, 2013
Multi-Faculty affiliating University established under U. G. C. Act, Mohanlal Sukhadia University, Udaipur is one of the famous universities in Rajasthan. The University is known for it’s commitment towards imparting quality education and knowledge.

The University comprises of four constituent colleges and 110 affiliated colleges. It has jurisdiction over 6 districts including Udaipur, Chittorgarh, Rajasmand, Banswara, Dungarpur and Sirohi.

The University was established with the name of Udaipur University in the tribal area of Southern Rajasthan. It had headquarters at Udaipur. It was an Agricultural University at the time of establishment and was turned into a multi-faculty university in 1964 named as University of Udaipur. In the memory of Late Sh. Mohan Lal Sukhadia, the architect of modern Rajasthan, the University was renamed as Mohanlal Sukhadia University in 1984.

MLSU offers post-graduate, graduate courses under different faculties. Admission to Ph.D. programs is open throughout the year. Applications for admissions to other courses are invited normally during June -July period of every year through admission notices.


Mohanlal Sukhadia University has two campuses. All departments of Science faculty (University College of Science), Commerce faculty (University College of Commerce and Management Studies), Geology Department, Girls Hostel, University Guest House, Professors quarters, Teachers quarters, M.B. Main Hostel etc are located  in the old campus, popularly known locally as  "M.B. College".  This campus is located about 2.5 km from Railway station, 2kms from Bus stand and is on the Udaipur-Chitorgarh (Udaipur airport Road) road.

The Home Science College and C.T.A.E of Maharana Pratap Agricultural and Technology University are also located near to the new campus. From Railway station or from Bus Stand, new campus is about 4 km towards Ashok Nagar-Ayad area.


The University claims to have good research facilities for the students studying under different faculties like Science and Computer Applications. University workshop is equipped with Sophisticated Lathe, Milling and drilling machines, Electronic Testing and Measuring equipments etc. Students of M.Sc. Physics are trained in machine drawing, operation of Lathe and drilling machines, glass blowing techniques, PCB fabrication etc. students of physics faculty have access to UGC Instrument Maintenance Facility, University Internet Centre, Computational and Graphics Laboratory, X-ray Diffraction facility, Thin Film Laboratory, Vibration Sample Magnetometer (VSM) facility, etc.

The University is also known for its Library System. It has a Central position in the academic activities of the University. The Sukhadia University Library System consists of 7 Libraries including University Central Library, College of Science Library, College of Social Science & Humanities Library, College of Commerce & Management Library, College of Law Library, Faculty of Management Studies Library, and University Department of Geology Library. The library system of the University is considered to be a heart of the University and aims at injecting knowledge into fresh mind continuously.

The University also provides hostel facility to deserving students. Science hostel which is for boys is situated on old station road. The hostel gives admission to students from the colleges of Sciences. Nehru hostel, situated near Sevashram Chouraya, has two blocks - A and B block. In addition to this an International wing for overseas students from all faculties is available in the A block. Admission to A block is restricted to students from commerce and Management faculties whereas students from Social Sciences, Humanities and Law can get admission in the B block. For girls, accommodation is available in the University girl’s hostel, situated in the Old Campus (M.B.College) on Durga Nursery Marg and Women's Hostel in Ravindra Nagar, Udaipur. Research Hostel located near Science Hostel is for research students from all the faculties. All the hostels are well equipped with modern facilities.

There are four constituent colleges of the University

  • College of Science
  • College of Social Sciences & Humanities
  • College of Commerce and Management Studies
  • College of Law

The University conducts admissions during the month of July. The students are required to apply with prescribed application forms. There will be a list of documents to be submitted along with the application form.

The admission lists of various classes with last date for depositing fees is put on the notice board of the College/ Department concerned. No separate postal intimation is dispatched. For admission to M.Sc. courses, all procedures are done by the Head of the Department concerned.

Admission to most of the courses is made on the basis of merit that is prepared on the basis of marks obtained in Senior Secondary or equivalent examination. For first year L.L.B, M.Sc. (Prev), M.B.A, MCA, M.Sc (IT) and other courses, entrance exams is conducted. For these courses separate admission notification is issued by the University.

No student is allowed to offer more than one regular course/Diploma/certificate at a time. However they can offer part time Diploma / Certificate courses provided the timings of this courses do not interfere with their regular courses.

For further information related to Kota Open University, click on the links provided below:
Comments (1)
    • sukrati chipper 21/11/2012, 11:37 AM

      sir, I want to know the last date of admission form for b.com 1st year private for exams held in march /april 2013.plz reply very urgent.thank you.
    • Comment #1
Subscribe to our newsletter